Books I’ve been reading with a lot of toast…

Since January I have been rotating back and forth between two authors that I have really enjoyed. In my ongoing search to find WWII era books I found The Distant Hours by Kate Morton.  I had heard of the author before and so I went to the library to get it. On the shelf close by was What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty, I grabbed both books even though they were both rather lengthy. I am not a fast reader so I wasn’t sure if I could read both of them before they were due.

I was absolutely spellbound by The Distant Hours. I could not put it down. The book had nothing to do with WWII, but it was set during that time in England. It is a recently published book, but still fits my “criteria” of WWII, England, not really graphic…the words that I had seen used to describe the book was “gothic fictions”.  This would normally turn me away as I usually read before bed and have a hard time getting images out of my head. I loved it and it wasn’t freaky. The book also goes back and forth between a present day storyline and then back into the past which I love.

When I was done I picked up What Alice Forgot and could not put it down either. Nothing to do with WWII…but a very interesting story about a woman who loses her memory and thinks that she is living 10 years earlier. She doesn’t understand why her current life is falling apart and isn’t happy with the person that she has become. The similarity of the two books? Not many! Both authors are Australian and apparently their comfort food is toast. Everyone’s answer to stress or being sick is to eat toast.

I found this to be true as I have sailed through all the rest of Liane Moriarty’s books…Three Wishes, The Last Anniversary, and The Hypnotist’s Love Story. Lots of toast. My favorite was definitely What Alice Forgot, the others were enjoyable, but just not quite as good in my opinion. Three Wishes and The Last Anniversary were lighter than The Hypnotist’s Love Story which dealt with stalking and was a bit more intense.

Of Kate Morton’s books, I have also read The House at Riverton which I had heard was a good read for people who like Downton Abbey and Upstairs Downstairs. And yes, it was a good read. As with The Distant Hours, and all of Kate Morton’s books, the story is told in present day and then traveling back in time. I am currently reading The Secret Keeper and can’t put it down. Next will be the The Forgotten Garden.

I would recommend both authors. What Alice Forgot is my favorite of Liane Moriarty’s books.  I am only halfway through the third of four Kate Morton’s books…My favorites so far are The Distant Hours and The Secret Keeper.

2 responses to “Books I’ve been reading with a lot of toast…”

  1. Alyce (@AtHomeWithBooks) says :

    I liked What Alice Forgot too! The only book of Kate Morton’s that I’ve read is Forgotten Garden which I thought was good.

    If you don’t mind a time travel aspect thrown in, Connie Willis has two books called Black Out and All Clear, which are two of the best fiction books I’ve ever read set in WWII London. Of course I have a huge weakness for time travel, so that could have something to do with it. If you do read the books you will want to have the second one available to read right away, because she wrote them as one book but the publisher split them into two (because otherwise it would have been way too big). But the first one stops abruptly.

  2. Laura says :

    It’s been a long time since I’ve even checked blogs. But loved your book reviews. I just started The Potato Peel Society- have you read it? WWII, England. Really enjoying it so far. Wish I had more time to just sit and read.

Leave a Reply

