Pear “Butt”er

Back in September, in an attempt to hurry the onset of Fall, I made a batch of pear butter. I tried find the recipe I had used before but couldn’t find it. So I just made it up this time.

I peeled, cored and chopped up the Asian pears and put them in the Crock Pot. I added a teaspoon or so of cinnamon and maybe a half of a cup of brown sugar. I let it cook on low most of the day. After the pears had started to get mush, I turned the lid so the steam could cook off and the butter would thicken.

So yummy on bread!

In the bag of pears we found this gem, we set it on the windowsill and laughed over it for awhile:)

Even now when it pops up on the screen saver the kids shout “pear butt!”

One response to “Pear “Butt”er”

  1. grandma ruby says :

    Darcy.
    How funny, that gave me the laugh I needed for the day. Love your sense of humor. This is one of the little perks that make canning,,baking, etc. so worth it. I know the kids will always remember pear butt because mom cared enought to make special things.
    So much better than working hard so you can have nice nails and spendy clothes!!!

Leave a Reply

