Am I Smart?

These are snippets from conversations that happened today:

Owen: “Wait! I want to spell the letters on the STOP sign. S-T-O-K”
Me: “Owen! That is a great job spelling! You got all the letters but the very last one, listen when I say it, s-t-o-p-p-p, p-p-p what sound is that?”
Owen: “p-p-p pumpkin pie, p-p-p, P! It’s a P! S-T-O-P”
Me: “Yes! Great job!”
_______________

Owen: “Mommy, am I smart?”
Me: “Yes, you are very smart Owen. Why?”
Owen: “I don’t think I’m very smart, I don’t even know what 2 + 0 is.”
Me: “Well, you are only 4, you aren’t supposed to know some of those things yet.”
______________

In the van while we were waiting for Grace at the bus stop, Owen picks up some pennies. I take 2 in one hand and none in the other. I ask how many are in the empty hand and how many are in the other…
Me: “How many are in this hand?”
Owen: “None.”
Me: “How many are in this hand?”
Owen: “2”
Me: So how many do I have?”
Owen: counting “1, 2”
Me: “So what is 2 + 0?”
Owen: “1, 2 (little light bulb) it’s 2!!”
Me: “Yep, ok, so what is 0 + 4?
Owen: “4!”
Me: “Yep, you got it bud.”

Owen: “Now all I have left to learn is how to tie my shoes!”

Leave a Reply

