Summer Reading at Our House

Grace and I have been reading a lot this summer (well and the spring too). We have been to the library several times and despite her saying “no more chapter books for a little while”, she is devouring them.

My reads:
I have just finished reading the Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear. I absolutely loved it. There were 8 books and I enjoyed all except one (Among the Mad). The books are set after WWI in England.

A few other books I have read recently and enjoyed are The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, La’s Orchestra Saves the World, actually anything by Alexander McCall Smith.

I seem to be really taken with WWI/WWII England right now…

Any suggestions?

Grace has been reading all sorts of chapter books. She loves to read before bed (as do we) and now that it is summer she has been reading as late as she wants.

Books and series she is loving:
The Ramona series by Beverly Cleary
The Penderwicks series by Jeanne Birdsall
The Betsy-Tacy books by Maud Hart Lovelace

We have had a hard time getting the third book in the Penderwicks series at our local library. When we were there yesterday the librarian said they had it on CD. We decided to give it a try and Grace loves it. She said “I can do whatever I want and just listen to it! She never stops talking, she just keeps reading and reading!” The set was over 7 hours and she listened to almost half of it yesterday while coloring and playing paper dolls. Not sure how much she is absorbing, but she loves it!

She also still loves her Fairy books but she doesn’t seem to be devouring them like she was.

Every month or two she tries to read a book about Helen Keller that was mine when I was a kid. Each time she gets a little farther before she abandons it. I think that one is hard to grasp.

Well that’s what we’re reading. What about you?

11 responses to “Summer Reading at Our House”

  1. Raylene says :

    hey do you want to borrow LandGirls about woman in WWII that worked on the farms. I think it was turned into a movie…

    I am done with my obsession with the scottish highlands for awhile and now moved onto cookbooks.. Barnes and noble was and still is i think doing a book log for SRP after 10 books read, a free book!!!

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Hey Raylene,
      I’d love to borrow that book. It sounds interesting and fits right in with my topic…I don’t know any Vegan cookbooks to recommend:)

  2. Laura says :

    Ok…you are a GREAT person to find out what books I should be reading to Maya!! Go figure, I’m a teacher but all my kiddos are upper elementary,so I have completely forgotten what we should be reading.

    I on the other hand, only have this month to read. I soak up anything by Richard Paul Evans…definitely not WWI, but still a great read!

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Hey Laura,
      If I think of any others that Maya might like I’ll let you know…Does she like “girly-girl” books?
      Since you are upper elementary you’ll have to tell me some more as Grace gets older:)

  3. Allison says :

    Jaidyn is LOVING Stuart Little right now! It is a great book too. I am interested in the Betsy – Tacy books that you mentioned and am going to have to check them out! Have a great summer!!!

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Hey Allison,
      Ooh, we need to do Stuart Little, I am pretty sure we have it, I think they would both like it. The Betsy-Tacy books are very sweet and innocent which is just what I wanted. The first one the girls are just turning 5 so I think it would be perfect for Jaidyn, I think the next one jumps to 8…

  4. Alyce says :

    I own the first Jacqueline Winspear book but haven’t read it yet. Everyone seems to love those! I like Alexander McCall Smith’s books too (especially the Isabel Dalhousie series). Have you read The Help by Kathryn Stockett? It’s so good, and I think you’d really like it. Unbroken is another very good book – it’s nonfiction about a soldier who spends a lot of time in a Japanese prison camp in WWII. It’s a great inspirational story. I’ve recommended it to several people and they’ve all loved it too.

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Hi Alyce,
      Prepare to get hooked as soon as you start Maisie Dobbs! I started in April and that is all I have read…I don’t fly through them like you:) I just didn’t want anything else! I haven’t read the Isabel Dalhousie ones yet but I think I have the first 2, I’ll have to do those next and I’ll look into Unbroken, thanks for the suggestion.

  5. jean nordly says :

    Suggest you read aloud to both kids the “Skippyjonjones” books. Great fun, simple to read–ages 4-8(I think). Also Russel the Sheep books for Owen.
    Jean

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Hi Jean!
      Thanks for commenting on my blog, it’s always fun to have a new commenter:)
      We have one “Skippyjonjones” book and the kids do love it, also one called “Slinky Malinky” which is cute too. I haven’t heard of Russel the Sheep though, I look for it at the library.

  6. Alyce says :

    Have you guys read the “Bad Kitty” books by Nick Bruel? We love them all but “Bad Kitty Gets a Bath” is our absolute favorite – loved by everyone in the family.

Leave a Reply

