Another Debate: Breakfast

Owen eats peanut butter bread for breakfast every day, and he has done this every day for at least 7-8 months.

Grace used to as well, but then started mixing things up by adding in cereal.

Pretty riveting, huh?

At the old house they often would eat breakfast while watching PBS cartoons.

Since moving to the new house they sit at the table together and eat breakfast. You know, good quality, family time.

And every day, EVERY DAY, every day (did I mention this was daily?) they argue about whose breakfast is good and whose is gross.

Owen: “Oh, yumm, peanut butter bed is so good.”
Grace: “No, Owen, peanut butter bread is icky, cereal is so good!”
Owen: “Grace! It’s not icky! That’s not fair! Cereal is icky for me! Peanut butter bed is so yummy!”
Grace: “Owen, this is so good, you should just try it! Do you want a bite of cereal?”
Owen: “Grace, cereal is not yummy for me! That hurts my feewings! Peanut butter bed is good for me!”

And as I may have mentioned, this happens EVERY DAY! They both start the argument, it isn’t always the same one being the instigator. And the other kiddo ALWAYS falls for it.

And they both have their own little ways of arguing and trying to pull the other one in to the argument, because, after all, what fun is it when the other doesn’t take the bait?

And me? Well, it just may send me over the edge…Luckily, I have my coffee and my computer and I can pretend I don’t hear it…

Oh, and this type of debate does extend to lunch as well. Mustard? Mayonnaise? Turkey? Cheese? Grace is in favor of all of those things and well, they are all “yucky” for Owen…

2 responses to “Another Debate: Breakfast”

  1. Jennifer Tenney says :

    I love Grace and Owen’s arguments!!!! I can imagine they would be frustrating if you hear it every day, but for me, it cracks me up and brightens my day!!!!
    Hugs,
    Jennifer
    Mom to Dakota 12-25-2008
    RCDH survivor

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Thanks Jennifer! It makes it more tolerable/funny to me if I step back and write about it…hence this blog!

Leave a Reply

