Trying to Get in the Mood

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD,
“plans to prosper you and not to harm you,
plans to give you hope and a future.
Jeremiah 29:11

I am struggling a little bit. It is December and I haven’t even put up the Santas. This is a yearly ritual that usually happens at the beginning of November, basically the day after Halloween. If you know me, you know that something isn’t right if they aren’t up even in the first week of December. Well, actually, that is how I know, I don’t know if it is a clue or a relief to anyone else.

Since we know we are moving (and possibly sooner rather than later-not before the holidays). I am having a hard time working up the motivation to get excited about the things I love the most at this time of year. I don’t even want a tree. It seems like so much work and just more stuff to unpack and re-pack.

Isn’t that sad?

I love my little house and for some reason it seems easier to act as though I  already had the last Christmas here, the last time the Santas were up, than to go through this one and have it really be the last one. Knowing as it is happening that it is the last one. Does that even make sense?

So to help me out, here is a list of things I am thankful for right now, I AM so blessed…

-That my God has been faithful to us this year and he will continue to be next year too! He knows where we will be and will take care of us, we need only to have faith and obey.
-My husband, that he is also faithful to me and our children and a hard worker and wants so badly to provide for our family and to help other people.
-My children, that they are happy and healthy and here.
-My family, immediate and extended, that we know that the support we have here will also be supporting and loving us when we move.
-Now this may sound random, but I know my in-laws will understand…that we have a working and wonderful washer and dryer. After reading this article in our local paper about folks who have to pay $5 to ride the bus for 50 miles, with all their dirty clothes and their kids, to get to the closest Laundromat to wash their clothes because there is no Laundromat in their town.
-My husband has a job with fantastic benefits doing something that he loves and was meant to do.
-We are able to be looking to buy a home when we move rather than having to find a rental that would take 2 adults, 2 kids, a dog, 2 cats, 2 chickens and a fish…thanks Mom and Dad…
-That my sweet little boy says “dancysaur” for dinosaur. I don’t think I will ever correct him. It brings a smile to my face every time.

So, while I am sad to leave this place that has been home for 5 years, I KNOW the plans HE has for us. They are to PROSPER and NOT to harm us, but to give us a HOPE and FUTURE.

3 responses to “Trying to Get in the Mood”

  1. claire says :

    Darcy,

    Funny you mentioned the Santas. I was wondering where they were!!!!
    If you don’t put them up I will miss them:) I will look forward to Christmas in your new home but am also struggling with your move. We have been so lucky to have this sweet little family so close. Live for the moment, put up the Santas and the bells will ring. Yes, there is a santa claus, but sometime he needs help from moms
    Love ya
    Grandma Ruby

  2. Jennifer Tenney says :

    Your entry struck me because that is exactly what I do when I get down on something … I make a list of all the reasons I have to be greatful and I think of all the people who are worse off and think of all the things that could be worse (I think going through having a child with CDH gives us the ability to do this as a gift but it also makes me feel almost guilty if I ever want to complain about something.). Sometimes, however, I think it is okay to just be sad about something, like leaving a place you are comfortable with! I totally understand. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!!
    Hugs,
    Jennifer
    Mom to Dakota
    RCDH survivor 12-25-2008

  3. Laura says :

    I’m sorry Darcy!
    I know you will feel a little better being surrounded by all your beautiful decorations and your santas! I wish I could come up and see how your collection has grown.

Leave a Reply

