Happy 500!!

Posts that is.

Well, actually Happy 501! But it doesn’t have quite the same ring to it, does it? Math was never my thing. I am not sure how I messed up when WordPress does the counting for me…This should have been on Wednesday to be the true “500th” post, but whatever…here it is all the same.

I started this “ittybitty” blog just over two years ago with my first post on 08/20/2007.

My posts with the most traffic are:
Owen’s Story
Simple Felted Sweater Bag

I receive the most traffic from these blogs:
Sofia’s CDH Story
Angel Elli
Never a Dull Moment
Be Not Afraid-Owen’s Story

These are the most frequent searches that bring people here:
funny grace, felted sweater bag, cdh blogs, congenital diaphragmatic hernia success, cdh blog, felted sweater bags, cdh awareness day, left brain qualities, cdh stories, intubated baby, cdh awareness

I have had over 47,000 hits.

I would love to hear from my readers. I know I have a lot of lurkers…especially all of you folks that come from Sofia’s blog:) Please take a moment and leave a comment, it would make my day to hear from you!

8 responses to “Happy 500!!”

  1. Jennifer Tenney says :

    I should have posted a comment a long time ago. I am one of the lurkers. I am mom to Dakota, born 12-25-2008, a Right-sided CDH survivor. I love checking in on Grace and Owen-they are so adorable!
    I have to tell you, I read Owen’s story after we were diagnosed, before Dakota was born. We were not diagnosed until 29 weeks and then Dakota came unexpectedly (at the wrong hospital!) at 32 weeks and 5 days. So we had premie issues to deal with as well as the RCDH, but now she is home and thriving. She was on ECMO for her 2-5th day of life, but after that she steadily got better and we had a fairly good recovery. She is my light and joy and I feel so blessed to have her!
    In the 3 weeks I had between diagnosis and birth, I researched non-stop …. but I would not read any angel stories, I would only read survivor stories and I clung to them. They were my life raft and even in the hospital during the hard nights, I would go back and read the survivor stories again! They gave me hope and peace! Owen’s story in particular gave me so much hope since he was a RCDHer. As you probably know, there is a lot of misinformation out there that says RCDH is worse … it is not necessarily and it helped Dakota in many ways as well. I remember very clearly reading this quote from your blog …
    “To have the hernia on the right side is more rare and can be a “good thing” as it was in our case. Because of the late diagnosis of his hernia (most are diagnosed at 20 weeks) it did not seem as severe as it could have been. He had bowel in his chest cavity and part of his liver, which also acted as a plug in the hole. His heart wasn’t impacted nearly as much as it would have been if the hernia were on the left side.”
    That quote gave me so much hope. Thank you for sharing your story. You change more lives than you know. I should have done a blog but Dakota came before I got to it. Now I just try to share her story through comments on every CDH blog I can find. I read, and pray, and give thanks for the miracles like ours and cry for the angels.
    Jennifer, jennifertrafton@hotmail.com

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Hi Jennifer!
      Thank you so much for leaving a comment on my blog. I can’t tell you how much your comment meant to me. I actually got very teary reading it and had to wait a little to write back. I have always wanted to give people hope about CDH because it seems so hopeless sometimes.
      I am so glad that I gave you hope, but I am especially that your little Dakota is doing so well. What a little Christmas miracle she is!
      Thank you again for taking a moment to leave me a comment, I really do appreciate it!

  2. Jen Miller says :

    Happy 500!! I love reading your blog. You have such a wonderful writing style and your posts almost always bring a smile to my face. I’m such a big fan of Owen and of Grace. I just love her fashion sense and The Graceisms always crack me up! Looking forward to post 1,000!

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Jen,
      Thank you for your kind words, I really appreciate it! We’ll see if I can keep this up for another 500 posts:)

  3. Lisa says :

    Oh, all right – I’ll come out of my lurkdom to let you know I’ve been blog-stalking you since I started reading the Sofia blog – or at least since Jen put a link to your blog on Sofia’s page! I know Jen because she and my niece are good friends, so of course before and after Sofie was born I kept up with her progress through her blog. So I guess I can blame Jen for starting my blog addiction!

    I love it when we can find humor in just the everyday things, because it is definitely there if you just look for it, and it is SO necessary, at least for me it is! And I guess it’s not necessarily just humor, but more in finding the interest and uniqueness in the little things that God puts in our paths. So I love your takes on your kids, dog, fashion, football, etc. Your pictures are great too – you have a gift for capturing your kids’ personalities with the camera – which is awesome.

    So thanks for the entertainment! I always think I would like to do a blog. However, I don’t have kids and would write mainly about my co-workers and customers at my job, which mind you, would/could be hilarious. But unfortunately, I would most likely lose my job, or at least alienate my co-workers if I divulged all of the humor around me on a daily basis. I don’t think just changing the names to protect the innocent (and/or guilty, as the case may be) would keep them from figuring out who I was referring to. So, I live vicariously through bloggers like you instead. I don’t think I could be as consistent as you are either – that’s amazing! Your kids will have such a wonderful memory book to go back to and remember their childhoods! Thanks again, and keep ’em coming!

    Sofia’s Mom’s friend’s aunt,
    Lisa

    • ittybittyblog says :

      Hi Sofia’s Mom’s friend’s aunt Lisa,
      Thank you so much for coming out of lurkdom and leaving me a comment! I really appreciate it and the nice things you said about my blog. I hope to one day turn it into a book for Grace and Owen like Jen has done for Sofia…I have no idea how many pages it would be by now. I failed at their Baby books, but I seem to be able to stick with this for some reason.
      I guess it would be hard to write about your co-workers. I think somehow people always end up figuring out what you are doing…
      Thanks again!

  4. Kim Reilly says :

    I’m a blog stalker. I’m a friend, of a friend, of a sister who now has an Angel. I found your blog through Angel Elli’s blog a little over a year ago. I never knew of CDH until then. I love to read about Owen and Grace. Owen looks so much like my little boy and they both have a love for tractors. My guy, Hunter is 19 months.
    I follow several blogs because these are little mini stories to me. I don’t have time to read novels, so instead I read blogs.
    Thank you for sharing, and sorry to have stayed hidden for so long.

    Kim in Iowa

    • ittybittyblog says :

      I just realized I filed away your comment before I responded to you!
      Thank you for coming out of lurkdom and leaving a message on my blog. I really appreciate it!
      I am the same way about reading blogs. I can only really read a book at bedtime when the kids have gone to bed, I just can’t concentrate, so I read a lot of blogs too!

Leave a Reply

