5 Year-Old Lessons

Owen: “Blah, blah, blah!”
Me: “Ok buddy.” Then whispering to Grace “I didn’t really understand him.”
Grace: “Why did you whisper that to me?”
Me: “Well, I guess I just didn’t want to hurt his feelings that I didn’t understand him.”
Grace: “Then why did you say it at all?”
Me: “You mean I shouldn’t have said it if I thought it would hurt feelings?”
Grace: “Yes.”

Simple and so true.
_______________

Grace: “Can I have one of these apples after nap?”
Me: “Sure.”
Grace: “It is good to eat an apple or your favorite fruit everyday.”
Me: “Why is that?”
Grace: “It makes us be strong and stay healthy.”
_______________

Grace: “Mommy, are you eating an apple?”
Me: “No, not yet.”
Grace: “Well you need to eat one so that you will be healthy.”
_______________

Me: “Let’s pick up really quick and then we can read a story.”
Grace: “It’s so much quicker if we work together.  It really doesn’t take any time at all Mommy!”

One response to “5 Year-Old Lessons”

  1. Amber says :

    Grace is so wise.

Leave a Reply

