Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter chocolate chip cookies are my family’s favorite kind of cookie. But, if you are like us, when you bake a batch of cookies, well, you eat a batch of cookies. It is a shame to waste them, they are so good. I’m a sucker for the dough myself.

I thought about freezing a couple of big balls of dough, then my efficient husband suggested slicing them into cookie sized pieces and freezing them. Yesterday as I was making the dough I remembered that I have four ice cube trays that I bought for freezing baby food that I now use it for my pesto sauce. I filled all four trays with some dough, froze them and then popped the dough out into a freezer bag with the baking directions written on it.

When we want a few cookies I can just pull out however many we want, let them thaw, roll them in the sugar and bake them. Now there won’t be any of those huge piles of cookies out on the counter tempting me…

P1080017

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 ½ cups flour (a combo of white and whole wheat flour is good)
1 ½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 cup unsalted butter (room temp)
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 package milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl.
In mixer beat butter for 30 seconds, add peanut butter and both sugars; beat for two minutes. Add eggs and vanilla, beat well. Slowly add flour mixture; beat to combine. Add chocolate chips and mix again.

Roll dough in balls and then roll in granulated sugar.

Bake 8-10 minutes.

Note: Good with a mixture of all-purpose (1 ½ C) and whole wheat flour (1 C) and a mixture of chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips.

One response to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Laura says :

    Ok, yum! And great idea. I think I just may have to do this.
    Question:
    Couldn’t you just increase the baking time a few minutes and then you could take them directly from the freezer??? I’m not a baker…so I wasn’t sure if that was possible.

Leave a Reply

