Revelation

As I have posted about before, my family is at kind of a crossroads in life. Danny lost his job back in January and has been looking since then. My job is part-time and so we have been living off of savings in the meantime.

We are both certain that God has a plan for us and that He will provide for us and that the right job will come along for Danny.

But what if we have to move? I love our little house and I love our little town and it is so hard for me to think about leaving.

Six months ago it would have been out of the question in my mind.

Then there were a couple of opportunities that Danny was looking at that not only would have been out of our town but possibly out of state too.

Then my perspective changed a little. Maybe Newport isn’t so bad (1 1/2 hours away), maybe Portland (2 hours), maybe Montana (I googled it, I don’t remember, but a full day of driving)…As long as we were close to home that would be ok, right?

I know God will open or shut doors so that we end up where we are supposed to be. We just need to trust and have faith.

Throughout this adventure my prayer has been that I would feel a peace about what happens or where we go and that the peace will make the decision an obvious one.

So during all of this thinking, I heard a song on the radio, it is called Revelation by Third Day…here are the lyrics and a video….I am sure you can guess what stood out to me…It actually came on today while I was driving to work…A little encouragement from God?

Third Day – Revelation

My life has led me down the road that’s so uncertain
And now I am left alone and I am broken,
Tryin’ to find my way, tryin’ to find the faith that’s gone

This time, I know that you are holding all the answers
I’m tired of losing hope and taking chances,
On roads that never seem,
To be the ones that bring me home

Give me a revelation,
Show me what to do
Cause I’ve been tryin’ to find my way,
I haven’t got a clue
Tell me should I stay here,
Or do I need to move
Give me a revelation
I’ve got nothing without You
I’ve got nothing without You

My life has led me down this path that’s ever winding
Through every twist and turn I’m always finding,
That I am lost again (I am lost again)
Tell me when this road will ever end
Give me a revelation,
Show me what to do
Cause I’ve been tryin’ to find my way,
I haven’t got a clue
Tell me should I stay here,
Or do I need to move
Give me a revelation
I’ve got nothing without You
I’ve got nothing without

I don’t know where I can turn
Tell me when will I learn
Won’t You show me where I need to go
Oh oh
Let me follow Your lead,
I know that it’s the only way that I can get back home

Give me a revelation,
Show me what to do
Cause I’ve been trying to find my way,
I haven’t got a clue
Tell me should I stay here,
Or do I need to move
Give me a revelation
I’ve got nothing without You
I’ve got nothing without You

Oh, give me a revelation

I’ve got nothing without You
I’ve got nothing without You

Unfortunately, the song doesn’t tell me yes or no about moving, or where, but it has given me a great deal of reassurance as we travel this road.

He holds the answers.

He holds our future and at some point we will be privy to that information. There is a reason that we don’t know now…

Until then, we must continue to trust and look to Him for that peace.

Romans 5:1-5

1Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, 2through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. 3Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.

2 responses to “Revelation”

  1. Jean ashner says :

    Praying you will feel at peace with whatever answer comes your way!

    It has got to be so tough, the not knowing, but you and your family have got a strength immense and such faith that I know whatever comes up, you will be able to handle it with grace and dignity–(and a little Owen-could leave him out!)

  2. Allison says :

    Hey Darcy,
    I have no doubt that that song is a little message of encouragement to you and Danny as you travel this rocky road of uncertainty. Lean and trust on your JEHOVAH-JIRAH… The Lord has a plan for your family and will provide what you need. And in His good and perfect time He will reveal His plan to you. Just trust and hope, you are in His hands.
    We will continue to lift you all up in prayer.
    God Bless
    Allison

Leave a Reply

