Our Little Mermaid

We have finally started Grace is swimming lessons. I wasn’t sure how she would take to it but she is loving it. The class is only a couple times a week and lasts for 3 weeks so we will probably enroll her in more at some point soon to build on what she is learning…

Just the fact that she is in class, doing well and not freaking out is a relief to me, her very water/pool phobic mother.

These pictures were actually taken by Grandma because I didn’t even want to go to the pool for her class, Daddy had to take her…but, now that I know that I will be required to sit in the upstairs bleachers while she is in the pool I might allow myself to go, and try not to worry that they will make me jump off the diving board just for bringing my kid to swim lessons…You know, some weird “surprise parent requirement.”

p1010291

Grace has just recently discovered the movie “the Little Mermaid” and so was more receptive to swimming because now she gets to really pretend that she is a mermaid. That is other than throwing herself on the hard-wood floor like she is diving and writhing around pretending she is swimming. Of course, this is more my kind of swimming, I like to think I could do it, at least in theory.

The other unexpected benefit to “the Little Mermaid” is that Grace has been pretending that she is Ariel and that her voice has been taken away by Ursula the sea witch. We have had long periods (up to 30 minutes!) where Grace is completely silent because her voice has been taken away. If we had only known, we would have started her watching this movie ages ago:)

The nightmares she has been having because of the movie are almost worth it…

p10102921

3 responses to “Our Little Mermaid”

  1. Laura says :

    Yay for Grace!!!
    And please let Grace know that I wanted to teach her mommy!

  2. Sonya says :

    Wow, sounds like the movie has been (for the most part) a good deal (and with good timing!) Ah, the voiceless, and somehow swimming, Ariel…

  3. Fer says :

    WTG Grace!!!!

Leave a Reply

