Sprawling with Grace; Driven to Madness

It was bedtime last night for Grace and Owen. Little man was already in bed and Grace was watching me dismantle her room and put things away. This is the conversation that followed:

Grace: “No, not the doll beds! Now your making me really mad!”
Me: “Well, I am sorry but your room is a mess and we have to pick stuff up sometimes.”
Grace: “Are you going to be happy tomorrow?”
Me: “I am happy. I am just frustrated that your room is a mess.”
Grace: “Well you don’t sound very happy.”
Me: “Like this, why are there magazines over here and over here?”
Grace: “They’re for people?!?!?!”
Me: “What people?!?!?!”
Grace: “Owen!?!?!?!”
Me: “Well, Owen doesn’t need magazines, he rips them, so we’re putting them away.”
Grace: “You’re ruining everything! I had my room just the way I wanted it! I just feel like you and Daddy don’t love me anymore!”

She’ll be 5 in two months, so is 5 the new 15? What can we expect when she is actually a teenager?

sidenote: my sister forwarded me an email months ago with this title in the Subject line. It is apparently a movie that she wanted to go see. She sent the email to a friend and the friend thought it was a post on my blog, so I just couldn’t resist a title that at times so accurately depicts my life:) I have no idea what the movie is actually about…but I’m guessing not 5 year old kid attitude…

5 responses to “Sprawling with Grace; Driven to Madness”

  1. Fer says :

    OOOOOOOOOOH YES! 5 is the new 15 and 7 is the new 17! That sounds soooooooooo much like Ana!

  2. kaeley says :

    Sis-
    So funny (at least to read, if not in the moment)! I know I have a hard time not laughing when she talks so seriously like that! FYI, the movie is a documentary about urban sprawl, so not so much about 5 year olds…
    Love you!
    k

  3. Stephanie Studdard says :

    Oh how this sounds so familiar to me. We told Hollie (7) that if there was anything left on the floor in her playroom, when she wasn’t in there playing with it, then that was grounds for throwing it away. Well, Sunday night, I couldn’t see the color of our carpet. I told her to get some garbage bags, b/c everything was being thrown away. As she watched her American Girl Doll, guitar, this and that go in the bag, she was sobbing. She asked, “Why do you have to be so mean???”. She would get all the blankets out of the linen closet and spread them all over the floor for her dolls, etc. Drives me crazy! So, yes, an answer to your question, 5 is the new 15.

  4. Jen says :

    Oh, I’m such a Grace Fan. I say I can’t wait for this stage, just for the shear entertainment value of it. But I’m sure it’s slightly less funny when you’re frustrated and tired. I sure do enjoy reading about it though! šŸ˜‰

    P.S. LOVED the glossary!

  5. Kathy in West Texas says :

    OH my goodness! That sounds like me when I was 13! (WAY TOO many years ago!)!

    That’s too funny she would get all upset cause you were “cleaning” her room!

    I love reading the funny stories about her!

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

