Thanks and Blessings, Week 1

Last week I read a post on Blissfully Domestic about Making a Blessing Box. The general idea is that you take a box, you decorate it and in it you put slips of paper where each family member has written down blessings or things they are thankful for throughout the month of November. On Thanksgiving Day it is opened up and the contents are read.

I have wanted to do something to encourage Grace’s understanding of what a blessed life we all have as well as being thankful for different basic things in our life.

After reading this post, I adapted the idea to fit our situation (Grace can’t write so she would need to tell us and Owen can’t participate yet).

So every day until Thanksgiving, starting November 1, Grace and I talk about the things that are blessings to her that happened that day or just in general. At first I explained what things I was thankful for such as Danny, Grace, Owen, our family, a roof over our head that keeps us dry, clean clothes, etc. And then I asked her if she had any ideas. It seems to have gotten easier as the days have passed. If something happens that she seems really excited about I have asked “is that something that you are thankful for today?”

I think it is clicking in her mind.

Some of her responses have been very sweet.

I thought I would post every Thursday until Thanksgiving so that you can see what she says and then I may re-post all of them on Thanksgiving, IF I can pull (or push) myself away from the table…

Grace’s List of Thanks and Blessings

Saturday, November 1
“I am thankful for Christmas because Auntie Kaeley will be home and I love her.”

Sunday, November 2
Grace: “I like my room”
Me: “What is your favorite part?”
Grace: “That Owen is in here because I love him and I would be lonely without him.”

Monday, November 3
“I am thankful for a warm house that is cozy when it is raining outside.”

Tuesday, November 4
“You are the best mommy that I ever wanted.”

Wednesday, November 5
“I am thankful for my new socks.”

Thursday, November 6
Grace: “I am thankful for brother.”
Me: “What about brother?”
Grace: “Nothing, I just love him.”

6 responses to “Thanks and Blessings, Week 1”

  1. Sonya says :

    Grace is just sweetness and light (when she’s not high maintenance…) What a great idea! I’ll have to make a note of it for next year. 🙂

  2. Fer says :

    This is really a good idea. I love it!

  3. Charlotte at simply divine love says :

    What a sweet idea! Today I am thankful for the fog this morning that made the landscape outside look like a picture in a painting.

    God bless!
    Charlotte

  4. Melissa @ The Inspired Room says :

    That is so precious. I have to work hard on this sort of thing with my son who is eight…yet when I take the time to ASK him what he is thankful for, I really see the tenderness in his heart! Thanks for the great post!

    Blessings,
    melissa

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Thanks and Blessings, Week 3 « Ittybitty Blog - November 20, 2008
  2. Thanks and Blessings, Week 2 « Ittybitty Blog - November 20, 2008

Leave a Reply

