Stop the Presses

I actually got out of the house last night!

Wednesday night is usually my Bible study night but it has ended until the fall. I didn’t realize how much I need/enjoy that evening out.

Grace has been sick again…since Tuesday…

So I went in to town to run some errands BY MYSELF, I went Barnes and Noble and I swear I looked at every book in the place:)

I did find a cool book The Preschooler’s Busy Book by Trish Kuffner. It has lots of good ideas of things I want to try with Grace, when she can get out of bed…

The introduction had this great poem that I wanted to post here. It really touched me and was good to read now, while I still can do the things it says and make the difference with my kids

If I Had My Child to Raise Over Again
by Diane Loomans
If I had my child to raise all over again,
I’d build self esteem first, and the house later.
I’d fingerpaint more, and point the finger less.
I would do less correcting and more connecting.
I’d take my eyes off my watch, and watch with my eyes.
I would care to know less and know to care more.
I’d take more hikes and fly more kites.
I’d stop playing serious, and seriously play.
I would run through more fields and gaze at more stars.
I’d do more hugging and less tugging.
I’d see the oak tree in the acorn more often.
I would be firm less often, and affirm much more.
I’d model less about the love of power,
And more about the power of love.
2 responses to “Stop the Presses”

  1. Fer says :

    Darcy… you just made me cry… Thanks, I needed that.

  2. Amber Myers says :

    I can relate every since I become a stay at home mommy four months ago. I feel like I never get out of the house by myself.

    D9on’t get me wrong I love being a mom but I think I’m starting to realize that I need to make sure I give myself some time on the weekends for just me or I think I am going to go absolutely insane!

    I love the poem!

Leave a Reply

