Archive | February 15, 2008

More Funny Stories

I have a Word document on my desktop that I am constantly adding to as Grace says funny or sweet things. When there are enough for a post I post them and delete the document contents and start over.

As I read over them I can see the things that are big in her life right now- dinosaurs, getting eaten, doing crafts, the stomach flu (or worry over it) and pretending.

So here are this weeks…

Grace: “Momma, do you know I always sometimes listen to you, and sometimes I don’t?”

Grace: “I don’t need to go wees, I just want in the tub.”
Me: “But remember, getting in the tub makes you have to go wee.”
Grace: “But I just like to wee in the tub. Is that ok?”

Grace: “Mommy, when you drive, just don’t drive to where the dinosaurs live because I don’t want to get eaten. I just want to stay here in my cozy home!”

Grace was making a pumpkin out of construction paper, glue and markers.
Grace: “Mommy, will you help me glanslate the pumpkin?”
Me: “Well, what does glanslate mean?”
Grace: “It means gluing and coloring it…Don’t color on the glue, that makes it bumpy and that’s not glanslating.”

Grace as she is heaving into a bowl with the stomach flu, puts her hand on my arm: “Mommy, I just love you.”

Me: “Grace, I need us to have a little bit of quiet time right now.”
Grace: “I just don’t know how to be quiet!”
Me: “If we watch a video can you be quiet?”
Grace: “YES! I can!”
Me: “But I thought you didn’t know how to be quiet.”
Grace: “I’m just pretending I know how.”

Grace: “Did you know when people die they become kitties?”
Me: “No, I didn’t know that.”
Grace: “PRETEND, kitties, Momma…”

We had music on in the living room and Grace said she needed it to be quiet. I was in the middle of something and couldn’t turn it down right away and told her that. She asked if the music didn’t know how to be quiet and I told her we had to make it be quiet ourselves. I was in the kitchen and I could hear her “Sshhh, Sshhh.” I looked around the corner and she was on her hands and knees in front of the speaker shushing it. Then she got up and went to the other speaker and got down and shushed it too.