My Tough Day

Well, I had a really tough day yesterday. Danny came home from work a little bit early so that I could run in to town to do some errands before my Bible study. When I left to head towards the freeway to get gas a big golden retriever ran out in front of me and I hit it.

I have never hit anything before (thank God) and it just broke my heart. I was an absolute basket case. A couple of people stopped to help me which was wonderful (I love my town).

Within just a couple of minutes the dog had passed and one of the women that stopped called her husband and he came in his pick-up to carry the dog. We all drove to the police station and the dog’s owner had already called them to be on the look-out for Ben.

The owners came to the police station. I was so thankful it wasn’t a family with little kids. The wife was too upset and got back in their vehicle but the husband came to me and hugged me and told me that it wasn’t my fault that the dog just ran out when he opened the door. I told him that I petted Ben while he passed and talked to him and he wasn’t alone. He thanked me and said I was a good friend.

I went home and called my sweet husband and he came right home and hugged me and took care of me and then told me to “brush it off.”  Aahhh, he has such a way with words.

5 responses to “My Tough Day”

  1. Fer says :

    (((HUGS))) I’m so sorry that hapened to you Darcy! You are a kind person, and being there with Ben while he passed was a very sweet and human thing to do.

  2. Carole says :

    Oh…so sorry that happened. How sweet of you though that you were able to be with Ben and comfort him. I know that must have really helped his owners heart. Thinking of you.
    ~Carole

  3. Laura says :

    Oh Darcy, I am sooooo sorry!!!!! I’m glad you were able to stay with Ben and then hopefully feel a little bit of reassurance from the husband. But I know it is not the easiest and quickest thing to get over. I’m sending you a big HUG!

  4. Jean says :

    Darcy,

    I’m so sorry that had to happen. I know it meant a lot to that man that you stayed with his dog and offered him all your love and support as he passed. You have such a kind and loving spirit.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Ouch, she’s brutal! « Ittybitty Blog - June 2, 2009

Leave a Reply

