My Rant on CDH and some thoughts on Daniel

Well- this post started out as a rant about CDH, by the time I finished I was talking about the book of Daniel. Go figure!

So, many of you know that our son Owen was born with a congenital diaphragmatic hernia (CDH). We were so fortunate in that Owen’s case was not severe, he recovered quickly and completely and we now have a healthy baby.

I have met some amazing women on a list serve called Breath of Hope that is an online support group for people expecting a baby with CDH, they already have one or have lost a baby to this defect. There is one lovely women in particular that I have become friends with whose beautiful baby girl was stillborn on April 14 due to CDH. This was just a little over a month after Owen was born and right after we brought him home. She is expecting again but has such fear because of losing her little girl to this monster of a defect. Right now I just feel so angry at this defect, it has caused so much hurt and pain to so many good people and sweet innocent children! I just ask that you all shoot up a prayer for her, for a peaceful spirit, that God will reassure her and comfort her and hold her in the palm of His hand as he grows a perfect and healthy baby in her.

I know that I am a stronger person because of our CDH journey, I can see the blessings that were a result of it despite the pain and fear that it caused. But I have my little man here! It is a lot easier to see the blessings because I got what I wanted in the end.

I was in a Beth Moore Bible Study on Daniel last year through my pregnancy with Owen. I know now that God had me in that study for a reason, for the people there that he had set aside to support me, to strengthen my own faith for our journey, and to be a witness of my faith to others through this journey. One of the lessons in this study from Daniel 3 is of the fiery furnace. Shadrach, Meshach and Abnego are put in the fiery furnace and they are not burned. Others on the outside witness a fourth man in the furnace who is believed to be a preincarnate appearance of Christ standing with these men, protecting them. I definitely know that Christ stood with us through our journey. I am just thankful that in our journey God refined our faith and we were delivered through the fire, not by the fire.

“Do not look forward to what may happen tomorrow; the same everlasting Father who cares for you today will take care of you tomorrow and everyday. Either He will shield you from suffering, or He will give you the unfailing strength to bear it. Be at peace, then, put aside all anxious thoughts and imaginations, and say continually: “The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart has trusted in Him and I am helped. He is not only with me but in me and I in Him.” – Francis de Sales

2 responses to “My Rant on CDH and some thoughts on Daniel”

  1. Allison says :

    Praise God that He is in control of the good times and the hard times in life. Praise Him that we have His Word to help us see who He is. You explained such a vivd example in Daniel. He will either delivery us from the fire, deliver us through the fire (as in the story), or deliver us right into His loving arms. In this truth we can rest, God is at work in EVERYTHING! And he uses these trials to grow and strengthen our faith and dependence on Him.
    What a blessing that God healed Owen.
    We can’t know the reason for all things that happen, the death of a child. But we can trust that He is in control and though the child was not delivered from or through the fire, she was certainly delivered straight into His loving arms. And though sadly your friend is not holding her little girl, we can trust that God will use that experience for His good purposes (maybe in witnessing to others who have lost a child to CDH). Praise God for His good and perfect plan!

  2. dancingboysmom says :

    Found your blog on the CDH page. Our second child also had CDH. He is five now.

    “It is a lot easier to see the blessings because I got what I wanted in the end.” I liked this one. It’s a good reminder that just because I can usually see the Lord working through my situations, sometimes it is only because I do get what I want in the end.

Leave a Reply

