The First Cut is the Deepest

I did some reading up on weaning from the pacifier and liked the idea of cutting the tip of the pacifier off. My friend Jodi posted a comment that the same tactic had worked for her.

So last night I rounded up the pacifiers and cut the tips off. I admit, I tried it myself before and after and there is definitely a difference in the way it feels against your tongue, which is certainly no surprise.

I put Owen to bed and just left the pacifier in his crib.

He picked it up and started sucking on it like there was nothing different.

Then he pulled it out and looked at it.

Stuck it back in and tried again.

Nope.

Pulled it out turned it around in circles and then stuck it back in.

Nope.

Pulled it out, stood up at the side of the crib and dropped it over the side and then cried because it was on the floor.

He cried a bit over it once he got it back but eventually he fell asleep with it in his mouth.

I am going to wait a couple of days and cut a bit more. We’ll see how that goes.

4 responses to “The First Cut is the Deepest”

  1. Amber Myers says :

    My mother in law did the same thing with her oldest son (my brother in law). It seemed to work.

    I loved the pic of Owen looking at it lie”what?”

    I’m not sure when but sometime this summer Eric and I are going to try to make a weekend trip down that way.

    Hopefully we can plan it just right and take the kids to the park for a picnic or something?

    I am not only looking to seeing how big Owen is but I can’t wait to meet Grace again. I love reading the Grace stories she is such a character! I love her age when I was working I worked with her age it’s such a fun age!

    Take Care

  2. Fer says :

    Yeah, me too, he’s co cute!

  3. Laura says :

    Hee Hee!
    He’s smart and totally has you figured out. “Mommy, give it back!”

  4. ittybittyblog says :

    Ahh, except he didn’t even use it last night, I cut it again on Sunday. It’s working!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

